Home

I was traveling for just about half of July, so my reading this month was pretty slim. Here are my short recommendations for the month:

 

Your Presence is Requested At Suvanto Maile Chapman NAY. I think the author is talented, but I’d rather wait and see whether she does something else than read this again. Great prose and atmosphere, thin on plot, glacial pacing.
Where’d You Go, Bernadette? Maria Semple YEA. Pretty much the perfect summer book: smart, funny, a bit wacky, with a mystery to solve.
The Magician’s Land Lev Grossman YEA, if you’ve read the first two in the trilogy. This is the best of the lot, and I’ll have a review up soon-ish.
The Hundred Year House Rebecca Makkai YEA, one of the best books of the year, in my opinion. Another one I’ll be reviewing soon.
Thoughts?

