Home

September brought me the gift of Sarah Waters, whom I’ve been unable to stop gushing about to anyone who will listen. I can’t wait to read everything she’s ever written.

Most everything else was pretty good, too. 😉

The Stranger’s Child Alan Hollinghurst YEA. Great writing, very funny, eye-opening historical fiction.
Persuasion (Annotated) Jane Austen/David Shaphard YEA. I adore annotated versions of books I already know and love.
The Secret Place Tana French YEA. Classic Tana French: great crime-solving procedural enriched by excellent character work.
The Little Stranger Sarah Waters YEA. I just discovered Sarah Waters and I’m already on my third book by her. Beautiful writing, thought-provoking themes, and page-turning plots.
Station Eleven Emily St. John Mandel YEA. Such a brief and absorbing book, you might almost miss the care that clearly went into its composition.
Dr. Zhivago Boris Pasternak MAYBE. Sometimes I’m just in the mood for the heady combination of philosophy and romance the great Russian novels provide, and Dr. Zhivago certainly delivered on the former, but the famous romance that I’d always heard the book was famous for was not as central as I’d thought it would be. Zhivago and especially Lara are both great characters, but they’re more interesting on their own than they are together. Still, it has the sweep of the Russian epics: you are reading about many people’s lives and how history bent and broke them. This is one you have to be in the mood for.
The Paying Guests Sarah Waters YEA. HELL YEA. This just came out last month to rave reviews, and it deserves every one. It’s half sweet romance and half nail-biting Hitchcock-style suspense. I finished reading it in a state of such anxiety that I couldn’t calm down for hours afterward.
Thoughts?

